h1

kootenay fun

March 6, 2010

Wow, I didn’t realize it had been so long since I shared an update. It wasn’t my priority when I was sick and then this week has been so busy.

I shared my first stories with a class of grade fours earlier this week and then yesterday I read from a book with the grade ones (they had their oral story from their own teacher earlier in the morning). Yesterday and today I’ve spent outside enjoying the fact that I can breath deeply again and soaking in all the sun, sights and sounds in this sunny town. I went out for 4 hours today and only realized too late that I had forgotten my camera….

I could so easily live here… it is the kootenays after all! There’s a commercial core that isn’t big box, there are a lot of cultural and community events, nearly every service I can imagine needing and of course, good people! Today I looked at a few more neighbourhoods, scoped out the rowing club and city parks. It feels like such a nourishing place on so many levels and I love that I can walk nearly everywhere.

I’m sorry I don’t have photos to share but things are going well.

4 comments

  1. I love the Kootenays- east and west. They are definitely on my list of places to settle in a few years. Just don’t forget how busy it gets in the summer!


  2. I know – that’s what used to turn me off of this area. It’s surprisingly alive at this time of year too though and there are so many places to go exploring in the summer!

    That would be so cool if we could swing things out here when you get back out here again. It never even occurred to me that it might be possible!


  3. 🙂

    I am so glad that you’re finding a little slice of “heaven” here on earth.

    I remember when I grew up on the farm and you’d go out first thing in the morning and smell the wonderful smell of renewed earth. You could hear the sound of animals waking up and getting going and smell the dew. And the sun was so magical then too. I miss those days.

    One day I won’t live in crumby E-town. LOL.


  4. L, I’d love to swap emails back and forth about what areas of the Kootenay’s you like best. We’ve come close to deciding that we’d like to move somewhere that we can buy acreage in the next 2 years and that most likely will be off island. My mom lives in Cranbrook but I don’t want to go there. I love the looks and sounds of New Denver… have you been there? Where can you actually buy property that is affordable out there? Drop me a line if you get a chance 🙂



Leave a Reply

