h1

last minute sewing

December 31, 2009

I love sewing, especially things that I have to figure out my own method for. The crayon rolls were a satisfying project but my favourite sewing is the kind that is done in a day, or better yet, done in a few hours.

With my new camera I want to be sure that I can take it on any and every trip so that it gets used. That means it needs a place on my pack where I can reach it, and a way to protect it from the rain when we’re on hikes. I am determined to make sure this camera stays out of both the lid of my pack and Kevin’s pocket. And it won’t be staying at home either!

When we picked up my camera we found a small, lightweight neoprene case that was just the right size. If not for the zipper it would probably be fairly water resistant. Today I followed through on my plan to add straps so it snuggly fits on the waist belt of my pack and then came the fun part – a lightweight pack cover out of sil-nylon. Sil-nylon is a royal pain to work with but it’s hard to beat for raincovers, tarp tents and stuff sacks when you’re a gram weenie.

modified camera case and rain cover

The form of my two projects aren’t my best but they are definitely going to rock in their function! And it didn’t take me months to strike this project off my list. Hiking season is still quite a few months away for us but I’m ready!

modified camera case ready for action!

Leave a comment