h1

granola!

December 17, 2009

DSCN1539

When my mom first introduced me to Julie Van Rosendaals “Grazing” a few years ago, one of my early favourites was the granola.  Somewhere along the line I stopped making it but then I started eating it this fall in support of the grade eights’ fundraising campaign. I loved it and made it last for as long as I could. Then, in my GF kick I realized that I didn’t have any cereal I could eat so I revisited making my own. It’s been great, and I enjoy it with an orange or applesauce nearly every morning.

One of the first things I did upon returning to Alberta was make more granola. I thought Kevin might try it once at the most but it turns out he loves it and isn’t reacting to it either so I replenished our supply with a double batch this afternoon.

My inspiration was that original recipe in Grazing but of course I’ve tweaked it a bit to suit our preferences and what can be found in our pantry.  My favourite combo so far is:

4 cups old fashioned (large flake) oats
2 1/2 cups nuts and seeds (almond pieces, pecan piecess, green pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds, moderately ground flax seeds, sesame seeds)
1/2 cup quinoa flakes
1/2 – 1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 cup maple syrup
1/4 – 1/3 cup agave nectar (light is best here otherwise it can overpower the maple syrup)
1/4 cup canola oil
1 tsp. vanilla (unless I forget)
1 1/2 cup dried fruit (apples, pears, raisins and ribbon coconut)

I haven’t seen any other recipes that call for including the fruit in the oven for the whole cook time but I did it once by accident and quite liked it. I’ve since found that adding the fruit for the last 10 minutes in the oven produces a really nice result.  Today I cooked things a little longer because I had overloaded my baking trays and the apples have a nice crunch.  And I always like the way ribbon coconut toasts up.

DSCN1538

2 comments

  1. Looks yummy. I love granola.


  2. I’ll do my best to make sure there’s some around when your clan is healthy enough to visit.



Leave a Reply

