h1

once a week

November 22, 2009

The past 3 weeks since the torch relay have just flown by! We spent the better part of 2 weeks in the classroom and then this past week we returned to painting, our woodworking project and a new block on high school. It was so great, but at the same time, emotions were running pretty high and that made the week far more exhausting that I had expected it to be. We made it through though, and now it’s a mere three weeks until I’m at home in my own bed. I’ll be making a bit of a strange detour to Kevin’s staff party but I’m sure it will be fun!

How I want to use this space seems to keep evolving and right now I’m going to make it my goal to post once a week, more if I have the time and energy. I’m pretty sure I can do that! I want to have some of the documentation for this year so I think a weekly post can help do that while balancing my need to do lots of other things.

Some of the cool things from these weeks in review:
– Participating in my first ever lantern walk and learning a bit about St. Martin by way of the grade two play.
– Learning a little bit about how to maintain order in the classroom.
– Seeing how important it is for stories to appeal to the different temperaments. It was a pleasant surprise to see what some of the seemingly least attentive students could remember during our review the next day.
– Authentically providing just enough emotional support to a child that was hurt. (Growing up I didn’t feel like much of a girl because sympathy and empathy were foreign to me. I have a lot of ground to cover but I’m catching up.)
– Having a long lost university friend/hockey teammate and his wife over for dinner and a visit.
– Catching up on life, hockey and exploring downtown with a friend from my SFU years.
– Going contra dancing with leather soled slippers – a big upgrade from the birks I wore last time. My real dance shoes arrived two days too late but they’re ready and waiting for the next dance.
– Joining my classmates and the high school students in a singing session. There were fun songs of yester years and today: the Beatles; John Denver; Peter, Paul and Mary and more.
– Dipping beeswax candles for the first time ever! This has been on my bucket list for 20 years or so and last year I came close when I helped toddlers do this at our Christmas fair. This time I actually got to participate in a set up that was geared towards adults and best of all, I was able to do it with friends. I enjoyed it so much that I did it twice. Once with my classmates, and the next day when the childless contingent of water girls came to visit.

winter crafting

There were a number of challenges this week but the biggest one was quite a surprise. I was so excited when we were introduced to a new game – space ball – this week and I didn’t even think about what risks there might be to my bones. That was a pleasant surprise until I fell. In the past decade nearly every fall has resulted in a wrist fracture. I can only recall one exception and I’m quite pleasantly surprised to be able to add this too the list. It’s still surprising though, given how hard I fell and the impact reverberated through my whole body. It easily took half the day for me to return to some state of normal and I feel like I’m still recovering from the shock. I’m not sure what the universe is trying to tell me but clearly I need to pay better attention!

And as if that wasn’t enough, while taking the photo for this post, I dropped my camera and it took 20 minutes to make it workable again. The shutter no longer works so I think it’s days may be numbered…agh.

3 comments

  1. Good to see you back L. Thanks so much for sharing your journey with us. I appreciate your honest views and it gives us a much needed renewed interest in Waldorf education.

    Have a great week and I hope your body feels back to normal soon. I am glad that your fall didn’t result in a fracture!


  2. I’m SO glad you didn’t break anything! I always look forward to what you have to say and the new things your learning!


  3. I’m glad I didn’t break anything either! I’m also disappointed that I haven’t posted more about the course. I would like to take more time to reflect on the highlights of each week and write about that here. I’ve been having an awful time remembering to bring my camera to school and when I really get down to the heart of it I think it’s that I really would prefer to be present in what we’re doing rather than busy documenting. Unfortunately that will probably make for some pretty ugly posts but balance… if I remember that I should be okay! It’s good to hear from you both too.



Leave a Reply

