h1

the olympics are coming

November 2, 2009

Back in 1988, I remember being excited about the Calgary Olympics. My family collected the mugs from the gas station and we watched as much of the games as we could on TV. In more recent years, people I’ve known through swimming, hockey and school have made it to the Olympics as competitors but I was just never that good. I still regret that I didn’t find a way to get to the Sydney Olympics but when Vancouver won their bid back in 2003 I knew I would find a way to be involved this time around. I remember that moment too!

Not knowing where we were going to be this year has made it hard to get involved in the Vancouver Olympics to the extent that I had once hoped so when I had the chance to enter the lottery for a spot on the torch relay I knew I had to do it. (A one day commitment somewhere in Canada would be a whole lot easier than trying to find housing and transportation near the Olympics while they were on.) I remembered the hype around the relay in 1988 and it went within a few blocks of our house. We also knew people who got to carry the torch in town.

This past summer when I was second guessing my decision about where to go to school I got word that I would be a torch bearer during our fall break. I took that as a sign that I was making the right decision and earlier today I ran my 300 metres. Friends and family were there to cheer me on and it was such a great afternoon. The words to describe it seem to be escaping me but I know they’ll find their way. In the meantime here are a couple of the photos…

DSC_0070

DSC00910

2 comments

  1. You look so great!


  2. That’s one snazzy white jumpsuit you’ve got on there! 😉



Leave a Reply

