h1

paddling song

October 26, 2009

Last week each of the classes in grades 1 through 8 performed for parents and friends of the school. It was meant to provide insight into what was happening in each of the grades and what I got to see of it was great.

I was most struck by what the grade two class did. Their performance was a bit of a medley but their first thing is what stands out the most because it’s so similar to what I’ve been planning to try with my classmates when they pretend to be in grade 2 later today.  (The television poem from last week was someone else’s interpretation on the same assignment.)

In the performance at the school the children went on stage carrying sticks with fabric on the bottom and they kneeled down in two rows as if they were in a giant canoe. Then they started tapping their sticks in time with the song they sang – “My paddle’s keen and bright, flashing with silver….

Some people consider the verse those children sang to be part of one of my favourite songs from back when I was around the same age. The verse I know best goes like this:
“Land of the silver birch, home of the beaver, where still the mighty moose, wanders at will.
Blue lake and rocky shore, I will return once more, boom ditty boom boom, boom ditty boom boom, boom ditty boom boom boom.”

I hadn’t thought to kneel down as if in a canoe but I will stick to my plan of teaching the rhythm in a circle and then learning the words from there. The context – learning a song that helps keep us in time as we paddle – is the same.

I still can’t get over the fact that the grade two’s at the school here did something so much like what I’m going to try out with my mock grade two’s today. Hopefully it all goes well!

On a completely different note, here’s a photo of my recently completed recorder case.  It took me a week to get around to ?finger knitting? the cord….
completed recorder case

Leave a Reply

