h1

staying active

October 18, 2009

Once again, I’m finding it challenging to get in shape.  I made so much progress earlier in the year but it all slipped away over the summer.  There were busy days and no access to a pool or bike when I was at my intensive and then when I got home I was so worn out and had so much to do to get ready for school when I wasn’t working.

I’m back to wanting to get and stay fit again – yay!  One big thing in my favour now is that I’m walking 3-5 km a day for school and with going to the library and shopping I’m sometimes getting closer to 8 km in and all of it is with a fairly heavy pack.  I need to be prepared for changes in temperature so I pack a lot of clothing.  Then there’s lunch and all the nibble times in between.  It shocks a lot of people but my 35 L pack is usually quite full.  All the better for my bones although the same might not be true for knees.  In any case, I’m enjoying the walking for the most part but can take the bus when my knees are really unhappy.

Another great surprise when I arrived here is that there is a pool nearby.  There are also other recreation programs available and at the present time I’m doing yoga one night a week.  I’m loving that.  The swimming part has been the most challenging.

There are good pool times but the way lap swimming has to be done here is taking some adjustment.  Instead of up one side of the lane and down the other they do up one lane, down the neighbouring lane here for “safety reasons”.  Up the sides and down the middle has worked at every other pool I’ve been at and besides, how can this massive loop swimming be good for anyones shoulders?  I think I’m at the point where I can accept this begrudgingly but then there’s the change room.  It’s not very big but with 20 or so women in the pool and 4 showers, the 8 or 9 hooks in that area are full even when there’s no shower in use and today the one bench in the empty (no people) change area was completely covered in stuff.  I’ve “shared” a hook before and people don’t like it but then others have their stuff spread across 3.  It might be a cultural thing, I don’t know, but it was so hard not to pull stuff off and throw it on the floor or today.

My new plan of attack is to try all the swim times that fit my schedule and when I find one where there isn’t such a fight for space I’m going to stick to it.  Otherwise I think it’s going to be awfully hard for me to get in the water at all.

It’s time for me to go for another walk where I’ll get back to thinking about the story I need to write, illustrate and memorize….

One comment

  1. I like your plan of attack for finding the least busy swim time.



Leave a Reply

