h1

meal plan

September 14, 2009

I started doing weekly meal plans long before meeting Kevin so that I would have a few days break from each type of food.  It was a way of trying to cope with all the food sensitivities I had been building up.

To accommodate my after school/work activities I’d have a loose description of what things were okay for each day of the week and when I lived in Nanaimo my Wednesdays usually included a salad with a variety of bean sprouts, and some version of tofu.  I remember because I had to make sure it was something my friend who came to town every Wednesday could eat and he was a vegetarian who really liked tofu.

I no longer stick to such a regimented diet but I do like to plan for the week ahead so that I don’t waste food or end up eating junk because I’m too hungry to think of something good.  For the past couple of months Kevin has been doing most of the food planning but now that I’m away from him and our home I’ll have to do this food planning thing on my own.  Yesterday I loaded up on staples and ingredients for the following meals:

Sunday – salmon with corn on the cob and broccoli.  (According to my old diabetic food chart, corn is more of a starch than a vegetable and since Kevin can’t enjoy corn I thought I’d try it while I’m out on my own and it’s still in season)

Monday – chicken tacos with homemade seasoning, salsa and lettuce

Tuesday – chick pea salad with stir fried veggies and almonds

Wednesday – zesty garlic pasta from How it all Vegan with chicken and broccoli (because I would have paid the same price for 1 stalk as I did for 3)

Thursday – tomato lentil soup (this might be adapted from HIAV) and maybe some bannock

Friday – jerk chicken from Grazing, quinoa and tbd vegetable

Saturday – pizza!

I also plan to make more crackers from Grazing and perhaps some berry bundles from Vive le Vegan.

Here’s for another string of warm days and some great food for the third week of September!

4 comments

  1. Sounds yummy! I like using those cookbooks too. I haven’t tried the crackers or berry bundles. I may have to make them soon!


  2. You haven’t? Those crackers are so awesome! Yesterday I made the flax wafers but soda crackers are another one I really like.

    For baking with little ones (2 or 3 years old) the berry bundles are hard to beat. Measure everything out into containers, measuring cups etc and the mixing fun goes on for a while. At least that’s my experience. I’ve done it with 4 boys of that age anyways!

    Not all moms like the bundles because they are kind of bready but to me they’re the perfect cross between a scone and a muffin, neither of which I make very often anymore. And I have yet to meet a toddler who doesn’t like them!


  3. Mmm… that sounds really good! I want jerk chicken! I still haven’t found a place to buy chicken here yet so we’ve been meat free apart from a little local bacon and fish caught ourselves.

    Meal plans that share with others are the best. They can be really inspiring!


  4. Nice meal plan!!!



Leave a Reply

