h1

a dress

May 27, 2009

I’m getting the sewing bug again!

Instead of cleaning up my stash like I should be I bought more silk dupioni (on a really good sale) the other day.  I love the colours and textures but was afraid to actually sew anything with it.  I wasn’t so keen on pattern drafting/garment sewing classes while I was taking them but now I’m happily surprised by the amount of useful thing I learned.

05 dress

New Look 6375 doesn’t call for a lining but I know how much nicer it is to wear a lined skirt and figure the same will apply to a dress.  The bodice for this pattern is self faced but before cutting the silk I decided to make a muslin using the lining fabric.  It’s a bit more work but it’s so much nicer to have something that fits well and I have a closet full of shirts that are too short.  (Before I actually cut the lining I added a bit more flare to the front piece – which required an adjustment to the “waist” positioning so that the whole section could be cut on the fold).

If I succeed in finishing this dress it will be the first one I’ve made for myself from start to finish.  I tried one in high school but was half way through it before my sister took over because I was so sick of it.  Then there’s the self drafted one from my class.  The styles we worked with were anything but flattering and so I have a 3/4 done straight skirt, non-fitted dress shirt and what would be a really comfy double knit wool dress if I could get over how frumpy it looks and actually finish it.

Except for high school grad and some formals in university I never wore a dress.  Right now I have two!  I’ve gotten a lot of use out of the peacock coloured knit one but I’m ready to return to the more natural colours so I’m hoping this burgundy wine coloured one fits the bill.  I never would have looked for a colour like that but as I went through the browns, rusts, and mustard colours this one caught my eye and it seemed to look best.  Now the challenge is to finish it in time for a wedding we’re going to in June!

6 comments

  1. Good luck with your sewing! I can’t wait to see the finished product/


  2. Looking forward to seeing it finished! I love wearing dresses and skirts!


  3. Who would have thought it – me the tom girl really likes skirts too. And they’re so easy to make. I partly wish I’d gone that route instead of with a dress because then I would have more opportunities to wear the finished product. Oh well. It’s been fun but the hardest part is finding time. Because I’m enjoying the process I’m managing to make progress, even if it’s a little more slowly than I would like.


  4. Skirts really are a breeze to whip up aren’t they?
    I really need to take a class like that.
    Soon…I hope.


  5. […] running out of time so I really must get to work on that dress before I have to get back to my “real” work.  Have a great […]


  6. […] I didn’t finish the dress in time to wear it to the wedding so it’s shelved now.  I probably could have worn it had I […]



Leave a Reply

