h1

sewing!

May 23, 2009

Textile arts are still one of my interests, just not one I’ve made much time for lately.  Before vacation I finally made some progress towards two fine kitchen adornments for a deserving friend and sister.

After months of evaluating what to make, and then what fabric to use, and then where to find the time I finally made this hot pad for Krista in thanks for the copy of Peaceful Living she sent me.  I really didn’t know how to say thanks but since there have been a few comments about the ones I made for Annie on her blog I thought it was worth a shot.  I’m definitely enjoying the book and that it is intended to be read in small amounts over a long period of time.

sewing-01

On the occasion of my sister’s 30th birthday I wanted to do something a little different.  Continuing on the “hand made or second hand” theme we devised for Christmas, I found a coffee press on freecycle and then fashioned a “warmer” for it.  And of course there is coffee – straight from Hana, Maui – that went with it too.  It was a little late getting to her  but we were each out of town on our special days.

05 sewing coffee

Last night I started on some sewing for me, but more about that later.

3 comments

  1. I really liked ur idea of coffee pot warmer. somthing different. I am also a textile person , Like new innovation.


  2. Hi 🙂

    Thank you for sending me the lovely handmade hot pad. I really like the colors, and how did you know my kitchen is perpetually short on things to put hot pots etc. on? I’ve used the folded dish towel method for too long. It’s nice to have something handmade on the table, too. So thanks!! I’m glad to hear you’re enjoying the book.

    Krista


  3. Oh how pretty! I love the colours too!



Leave a Reply

