h1

seedy sunday

March 23, 2009

It’s hard to believe with how beautiful it is out today that we had a snow storm yesterday.  That didn’t stop us from stopping in at the Edmonton Seedy Sunday event yesterday.

I tend to prefer to stay home when it’s cold and snowy and yesterday was no different.  If the seed event had been one month earlier I probably would have been gung ho to go right at the start but reality has set in more recently.  I’m planning to go away for a Waldorf summer intensive for the month of July so of course I won’t be here to tend a garden in peak growing season.   Then there’s the relocation we’re planning for September, right about when most of our vegetables are ready to harvest.   None the less, I wanted to see what the event was all about so we went.

I was surprised to find familiar faces right away and then at my last stop, Prairie Heritage Seeds from Saskatchewan I had some great conversations.  I was surprised to see spelt, quinoa and millet in the catalogue so we talked about how some grains are suitable to grow at home because they’re easy to thresh – like the “newer” wheats.  Spelt of course is much more suitable for larger grain growing operations.  Darn!

Just then a “regular” showed up to pick up her order and the conversation got even better.   We discussed dried beans, different grains and the best varieties of tomatoes, beans and cucumbers.  She sounded like a master baker with in depth knowledge of different types of breads and what different nutrients they provide.  I wish I could remember everything for future seasons but the experience of this enegetic conversation was rewarding in and of itself.  Suffice it to say, I’m very happy we went out and I enjoyed the connections with friends and these seasoned gardeners.

One comment

  1. I am jealous you are going on a week long intensive course! I bet it will be great. I have read about some Waldorf courses for parents as well. Maybe when life gets less hectic, I will have to check them out.



Leave a Reply

