h1

waldorf in e-town

February 24, 2009

Somehow I’ve only managed to visit municipal council chambers once.  I’m not sure what they call the room where the public school trustees meet but it sure felt like council chambers with a lecture theatre twist.  At today’s meeting the board decided to act on a proposal to re-introduce the Waldorf pedagogy into the public school system.  I’m so excited!  Having the program available in the public school system means it will accessible to those who might not otherwise be able to afford Waldorf.  The only schools I know of in Canada are private and pricey.

It’s going to be a busy few months for everyone involved in the transition but it’s also going to be super exciting too!

4 comments

  1. That’s so great. Did this happen in Edmonton? I am so glad that the Waldorf curriculum and philosophy is becoming more widely accepted!


  2. Yeppers. At least one person with the society here was fortunate enough to attend when there was the public school offering of Waldorf in the 80’s and very early 90’s. I think it’s so cool that this board believes in options – this will be the 34th alternative program. Back home it seems like they usually only have a handful and the closest I can find is a montessori option but I’m not even sure that it’s running yet.


  3. I am continuously amazed at the many options available in Edmonton. Sure, I am not using any of them but it’s so great for everyone else.
    I share with anyone that I meet that seems interested in finding a better alternative for their schooled kids all of the different options for schooling. From Caraway to Sudbury Indigo to Waldorf to home and unschooling.
    It seems Edmonton has a little something for everyone…at least as far as schooling is concerned. 😉


  4. wow, that’s awesome. My son attended Steiner School in Ann Arbor last year (before we moved away) and there are so many lovely things about that pedagogy.



Leave a Reply

