h1

pottery!

February 5, 2009

I finally remembered to take my camera to class tonight!  I’m finally getting the hang of this pottery on the wheel thing and I couldn’t be happier.

dscn1869

I usually have no idea what I’m going to make when I start out but great things have been happening.    And unlike in my first set of classes (where I only got on the wheel three times) I’m actually challenging myself to let things go.  That usually means squishing up the last thing I’m trying but last night that meant making my cheater plates a little smaller than planned.  All in all, it’s fun, fun, fun!

BTW, these photos are of things I made last week before I started trimming them.

4 comments

  1. Amazing. Absolutely amazing. Simple and beautiful. How big are those? It’s hard to tell. What needs to happen for them to get finished?


  2. I’m going to try and document that. It’s hard though since there is clay everywhere (well, all over my hands anyways). It would be nice if I could convince someone to take pics…


  3. I can’t wait to see them. Maybe I should join you on the next batch (if you go again).


  4. Love the red clay. Not something I’ve worked with much, but it sure gives a different feel to the piece. Warm and rich.
    These bowls (?) are so round and gorgeous. I’d love to see them after trimming, firing, glazing, etc. I hear you on the clay covered hands being a challenge for taking photos. Cameras don’t like even the clay dust. I take mine out very briefly after I’ve washed my hands and put it back as soon as I have snapped my pics. Worth the effort to be able to document the process. I’d really enjoy seeing more of your work with clay 🙂



Leave a Reply

