h1

Candlemas

February 3, 2009

Happy Candlemas one day late!  I had intended to write this up and post it last night but I was more in the mood for a long conversation with a good friend when I got home.

Christian celebrations have never felt right for me but since we decided to celebrate winter solstice two years ago the Christmas season has been much better.  As I’m learning more about Waldorf I’m finding there are all sorts of other times of year to celebrate.

I find it interesting that some of what we know as “religious” celebrations actually have their roots in pagan traditions.

Yesterday North Americans celebrated groundhog day and the shadows that “tell” us winter will last 6 more weeks.  Up until two weeks ago that’s all I was aware of on February 2.  Now I know there’s a brighter celebration on the same day – the visible return of light, halfway between the winter solstice and spring equinox.  It sounds like more of a pagan sort of celebration but I see that there are a lot of Christian connotations with the name Candlemas.  I found a little quote that ties the celebrations together “if Candlemas Day is bright and clear/ There’ll be two winters in the year.”

In celebration of Candlemas, our local Waldorf group held a potluck and candle making last night.  Kevin and I had a good time and we made some candles to supplement our dwindling supply as well.  Perhaps the best parts were the people and that there was other food we could eat (an exceedingly rare treat).  It was a great day and now here’s a photo of our silly candles!

dscn1863

4 comments

  1. Looks like fun. I love beeswax. These rolled ones burn down so quickly though that you can’t really burn then just because. 😦
    Sorry I missed it.


  2. I think we wrapped them fairly tightly – the tall narrow one isn’t even down to half and I had it burning for 2 hours. I’d like to make some short fat ones. Maybe our next get together should be a candle rolling day…


  3. “Silly candles”? What? Those are really pretty! We didn’t make candles as I had hoped but we did burn candles in the spirit of the holiday (?). Thanks again for the heads up about this neat celebration!


  4. Well, they don’t look much (if at all?) better than the ones the younger folk made. I wasn’t really sure about the coloured modelling wax but it’s so fun to roll around and way more forgiving than clay. I so need to do a book order so I can understand more about these holidays – I hear “All year round” is a good one but I have yet to find it in an actual store. Looks like I’ll be going with Acorn’s Journey or Amazon.



Leave a Reply

