h1

back to food

January 26, 2009

It’s so easy for us to get in a rut and make the same meals week after week. Same goes with getting accustomed to buying snack foods that someone else has prepared.  It’s so expensive and thinking about the changes this next year is going to bring I’ve finally convinced myself that it’s time for a change.

In the past month we’ve been eating more vegan meals (three to five days a week) and I’m getting back to baking.  It’s so great to have more than 2 cookies to choose from and to revisit some of my favourite muffin recipes from before.  And of course saving moolah never hurts!

Early on in our relationship I was introduced to a beat up version of the Purity Cookbook that Kevin’s mom used religiously when he lived at home.  When I saw a reprinted version of it last year I decided to take a chance and try it out.   The organization and index aren’t overly user friendly but I’ve found some great traditional cookie recipes that are hard to find anywhere else.  On Sunday night I tried  these:

01-food2

Thimble cookies, but not the way my mother made them (she always used blackberry jelly which I never liked as a kid).

The wheat free version I created is definitely going in the next edition of my cookbook, although I’ll likely double the recipe.  Here’s what the 16 cookie recipe I tried last night looks like:

1/2 cup vegan margarine

1/4 cup raw sugar

2 tsp lemon juice (that’s not even a substitution!)

1 flax egg (1 Tbsp flax meal with 3 Tbsp water)

1 cup whole spelt flour

1 cup crushed nuts

a little bit of berry jam

It’s pretty simple.  Cream margarine and sugar, then mix in lemon juice and HALF of the flax egg.   Add the flour and you’ve got a fairly gooey cookie.  Roll the dough into 2-3 cm diameter balls and then roll them in the remaining flax egg, before coating them in the crushed nuts.  Place on a parchment lined cookie sheet.  Before popping them in a 350 F oven, use your finger to create a divot in the middle (the jam will go here later).  They bake for 15- 17 minutes and while I didn’t need to deepen the hole partway through the cooking you might want to check after the first 5-7 minutes of cooking.  As soon as they come out of the oven, fill the holes with jam. Mmm mmm good!

I know they contain a good amount of oil but I’m preferring this nutty raspberry jam cookie to the margarine coated popcorn I eat when there’s nothing else in the cupboard.  Plus they’re surprisingly quick and easy to make with ingredients we always have in stock.  They’re going quickly too – I’m already down to 9 and I’m the only one who can eat them.

2 comments

  1. We called them Bird’s Nest Cookies. I love those! I was given the purity cookbook years back but I’m not sure what happened to it now…

    It’s neat to read this post since I’m smelling my ginger pear muffins baking in the oven! I’ll have to share the recipe, because it’s without dairy or eggs- although not gluten free at moment.

    I love to use your cookbook and remember those recipes we made all the time- pina colada muffins etc…


  2. Pina colada muffins have returned as a staple in this house. We’re getting better at making gluten free flour replacements so maybe I should try those for the Mr. I love using the book and being reminded of meals with friends – I especially like the cannelloni you made and wish I could find pasta that would work for both of us.

    I can’t remember what edition of my book you have but I seriously need to put together an updated version. I gave away the last copy almost 2 years ago so there are something like 40 households with my book. What a crazy thought!

    I’ve added a couple dozen recipes in my own copy and now with Kev’s gf thing I’m going to have to find a new way to organize things since some people use the book as a guide to what we can eat. That was the original purpose too I guess.

    And yes, you will have to post that ginger pear muffin recipe – it would be a nice way to mix things up and vegan muffin recipes seem to be one of the harder things for me to find. Kev usually makes his own “treats” so gluten is fine. Have a great day and enjoy those muffins!



Leave a Reply

