h1

six lap test

January 19, 2009

I’m not a runner.  I never really have been.  There have  been short stints here and there where I’ve tried but that’s about it.  Saturday’s tri session was my second time running in hmm… lets say 4 years.  We did the 6 lap (1 mile) “test” to get a benchmark to compare future runs against.  I ran the whole thing and finished in a time of 8:45.

I have no idea how good or bad that time is but given how little I’ve run it seems ok.  My legs… they’re a different story.  Despite tons of long and gentle stretches I was hobbling around a fair  bit yesterday.  Then today I decided  to walk 4 km instead of waiting for a bus.  It was beautiful outside and I thought it would be a good way to loosen up my legs.  Not quite.

On its own the distance would have been fine but with strained muscles and spiky shoes on concrete it was clearly to much.

Tomorrow is biking and swimming.  I’m really hoping a good soak followed by a hot and cold shower will patch me up so I can keep training.  I’ll worry about  improving my time in a few months.

2 comments

  1. Ah yes… the pain of starting out again. Enjoy some soaking and keep it up. I wish I could make consistent time to go running. I got discouraged a while back with knee issues. Don’t let that happen to you!


  2. Hopefully my writing will get better with this blogging thing – it is my knees that are puffed up like balloons. I was excited about the good pain but these knees are getting me discouraged too. I’m taking tonight off and am lying on the couch practicing the R, I and E of RICE right now!



Leave a Reply

