h1

I’m tri-ing

January 12, 2009

Last week, in addition to starting my blog, I made a significant step towards another of my bucket list items – completing a triathlon on my own.

Up until almost four years ago I was fit and not much stood between me and the triathlon goal.  There was rarely a weekday where I didn’t have at least one sporting activity planned.  Then I got hurt.  Again.  And I let laziness, disinterest in the available programs, and health issues stand in the way.  Last week I put all those things in the past when I started my triathlon training.

I know it’s only been a week but I can feel the difference already.  It’s been so long since I was able to feel “good” muscle pain.  You know, the kind that tells you you worked those muscles but not the wicked ache of doing too much?   It was so nice (and probably necessary) to have a day off yesterday because there was a lot of that good pain.   I feel much better today, ready for tomorrow’s bike and swim.  Woohoo!

There are still many months between now and my first triathlon but at least I have something to work towards.  I just need to decide which triathlon will be my first.  There are so many to choose from.. women’s only, pool swim, lake swim, close to home, far from home, etc.   And they’re a lot more expensive to enter than I expected – probably because the last team tri I did was circa 1992.

I’m so excited… in 8 more months I’ll have one of my most important  items off “the” list!

6 comments

  1. Hello . Hello

    Thanks so much for stopping by my blog. I am so thankful for your kind comments on the waldorf doll I just made. .I hope that my photos were helpful. If you are intersted in more resources let me know. I know I searched and searched too (and saved all the inspirational things I found in a blogroll folder) I would be happy to send you the links and such…or try to answer questions if you had any.

    Congrats on starting the blog!! I wish you much enjoyment from it!


  2. Congrats on your new goal! I think that it is so great that you are doing this and challenging yourself in this way. I look forward to reading more about your journey!


  3. I want to run a marathon for ’09. That’s been one of my life goals for a while now.
    I think I can do it but I need to get my butt off the couch. I keep blaming the babies for my lack of energy but really, there’s no excuse. Therefore I am going to log off the computer and go burn some of that homemade vegan chocolate pudding I just stuffed myself with. Ha ha ha.


  4. Thanks everyone for your encouragement! The spin and swim workout tonight was tough – it almost felt like we were in bootcamp! I’m so glad I got in a few hours on the bike before Christmas because I’m sure this week would have been too much otherwise.

    M- I’m glad I could give you the motivation to start your workout early tonight. By the time p&t is over I should be able to manage a swim after class.

    I also think it would be stellar if you started sharing your recipes on your blog. I’ve thought about it but never tried, making my own pudding from scratch. Curry sauce is a different matter though!

    Granola Girl – I so enjoy your blog and the photos outside motivated me to get to mountains a few extra times last year so keep it coming. And you have no idea how much it helps me to know there’s another Waldorf inspired granola in the land of rednecks!

    Dayna – Thanks so much for detailing your instructions and when soyster and I finally get our butts in gear and order our supplies we would definitely benefit from what you’ve learned.


  5. Wow! Cool. I love doing… stuff. Being active, getting fit… all that is so great. I’m glad you’ll be documenting your journey!


  6. […] about the weight I’ve gained but also the muscle I’ve lost.  As eluded to in my tri post it’s taken me a long time to get back onto the fitness band wagon but despite a setback with […]



Leave a Reply

